Microfracturing

Microfracturing was the first surgical method to be used on cartilage injuries to stimulate healing by tissue regeneration. A pointed awl is used to make many small holes in the bone surface around the cartilage injury; this results in a small amount of blood escaping from the bone tissue.

After surgery, the joint must be kept free from stress for around six to eight weeks, but it can be moved to allow new cartilage tissue to grow above the microfractured bone tissue.

Unfortunately, the regenerated tissue consists of fribrocartilage rather than normal cartilage, and the results usually worsen after a few years. Another unfortunate side effect is that irregular healing after the “injury” to the bone seriously complicates any surgery required at a later date, such as cartilage transplantation.

BST

BST-CarGel is a natural polymer consisting of chitosan obtained from marine crustaceans. This powdery material is mixed with some autologous blood from the patient in the operating room, forming a gel within a few minutes; the gel is introduced into the injured cartilage.

The operation takes place using arthroscopy alone or together with classic open surgery depending on the location of the injury. This innovative treatment option is a clear development and improvement on the previously used microfracture technique. More effective guidance helps the natural healing process while repairing cartilage healing.

Mikrofrakturierung

Mikrofrakturierung war die erste chirurgische Methode, welche bei Knorpelverletzungen eingesetzt wurde, um den Schaden durch eine Geweberegeneration zu stimulieren. Mit einer spitzen Aale werden dabei viele kleine Löcher in die Knochenoberfläche im Bereiche des Knorpeldefektes gestanzt, womit erreicht wird, dass aus dem Knochen etwas Blut austritt.

Nach diesem chirurgischen Eingriff muss das Gelenk 6–8 Wochen entlastet, jedoch bewegt werden, damit über dem so präparierten Knochen neues Knorpelgewebe wachsen kann.

Leider ist dieses regenerierte Gewebe nicht knorpelig, sondern besteht mehr aus Faserknorpel, was zur Folge hat, dass die Resultate meist nach einigen Jahren schlechter werden. Ein weiterer Nebeneffekt ist leider darin zu sehen, dass wegen der Knochen-«Verletzung» und der unregelmässigen Heilung spätere chirurgische Massnahmen (Knorpeltransplantation) stark beeinträchtigt werden.

BST

BST-CarGel ist ein natürliches Polymer-Material (Chitosan, aus Meeresschalentieren gewonnen). Das pulverförmige Material wird im Operationssaal mit etwas Eigenblut des Patienten vermischt, sodass daraus innert einiger Minuten ein Gel entsteht, welches in die Knorpelverletzung eingebracht werden kann.

Je nach Ort der Verletzung geschieht dies mittels Gelenkspiegelung alleine oder durch eine klassische offene Operation. Diese innovative Behandlungsoption bedeutet eine klare Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung der alten Microfracture-Technik. Der natürliche Heilungsprozess des Körpers wird besser geleitet und die Reparatur des Knorpels wird verbessert.